You have the ability to archive triggers in all campaign types, except for live content. Archiving a trigger will remove it from the campaign journey and the campaign editor. Users who were last messaged by the archived trigger will fall out of the campaign, but may be eligible to re-enter the campaign. You can archive triggers in launched event triggered campaigns, but you will need to pause other types of campaigns first, before archiving.
To archive a trigger, click on the red icon in the bottom right of the trigger box. This action cannot be undone so you will be prompted each time to confirm that you want to archive the trigger.
How archiving affects the campaign journey
Archiving triggers will modify the campaign journey and can change the sequence of messages a user is eligible to receive in the future. The archived trigger's children, if any, take the place of the archived trigger among it's siblings, if any. This mechanic is best demonstrated with some examples.
Scenario 1 - Archived trigger has no siblings and no children
In this example, trigger E gets archived. Users who were last messaged by trigger E fall out of the campaign. Users who were last messaged by C will also fall out because E is no longer a child of C.
Scenario 2 - Archived triggers has no siblings but has children
Trigger E has no siblings but it has one child, trigger F. After trigger E is archived, trigger F takes the place of trigger E. Trigger F's parent becomes C and trigger C's new child is F. Users who were last messaged by trigger E fall out of the campaign. Users who were last messaged by trigger C can be evaluated for trigger F in the next step.
Scenario 3 - Archived trigger has siblings but no children
Trigger E has one sibling, trigger F. After trigger E gets archived, it's parent trigger C has one child reamining, trigger F. Users last messaged by trigger E will fall out of the campaign. Users last messaged by trigger C can only get evaluated for trigger F in the next step.
Scenario 4 - Archived trigger has both siblings and children
Trigger C has 2 siblings (triggers B and D) and two children (triggers E and F). After trigger C gets archived, its children, E and F, take its place, becoming siblings with B and D. Users who were last messaged by C fall out of the campaign. Users last messaged by trigger A will have B, E, F, and D as eligible triggers for the next step.
Viewing archived triggers
You can toggle statistics for archived triggers in the campaign detail view using filters. The available options are "Any trigger state", "Active" and "Archived". The default setting is "Active" which only includes non-archived triggers. The "Archived" setting only shows archived triggers and the "Any trigger state" shows both active and archived triggers.
You can click on an archived triggers to get to it's trigger detail view.